Child Development

Students will either study AQA GCSE Child Development or Edexcel BTEC in Children’s Play, Learning and Development.

These courses will give students an opportunity to gain a broad knowledge and develop skills in the early years sector. Students apply their learning through practical activities found in the workplace. Learning will be enhanced through visits to local early years settings, visits by guest speakers and links with employers making the course relevant to specific needs. 


The subject content is divided into five areas:

  1. Parenthood
  2. Pregnancy
  3. Diet, health and care of the child.
  4. Development of the child 
  5. Support for the parent and child.

Assessment involves the completion of a research task worth 20% of the final marks. Students complete a child study task worth 40% and a written paper worth 40% comprising of short answer, structured and free response questions.

Edexcel BTEC

Students will study the following units:

  1. Patterns of Child Development.
  2. Promoting Children’s Development Through Play. 
  3. The Principles of Early Years Practice.

Units 1 and 4 are assessed externally using an examination marked by Edexcel. The remaining units are assessed internally. For the remaining units, students are required to submit evidence of knowledge through assignments.