Welcome to the Kingsmead School Engineering Learning Team

BTEC Technical Award in ENGINEERING Level 1/Level 2 is available as an option in years 9, 10 and 11 [Key Stage 4]. The qualification is for learners who wish to acquire technical skills through vocational contexts by studying a range of engineering design principles as part of their Key Stage 4 learning.

The qualification covers:

Component 1

Exploring Engineering Sectors and Design Applications

Component 2

Investigating an Engineering Project

Component 3

Responding to an Engineering Brief

Components 1 and 2 are internal assessments and will develop core knowledge and understanding of engineering sectors, the stages involved in planning and implementing an engineering project and the development of problem solving, design, creativity, communication and collaboration skills.

Component 3 is an externally assessed component and builds on components 1 & 2 by responding to an engineering brief to create solutions to engineering problems.

The external assessment is based on a set task that allows learners to demonstrate their skills acquired in components 1 and 2.

3 useful websites

The Institute of Mechanical Engineers:

How to become an Aerospace Engineer: ›

How to become an electrical engineer: