Assessment

Assessment at Kingsmead is an integral part of learning and teaching. This helps to provide students with a picture of their progress and achievements. It also identifies the next steps required in their learning.

We have tried to distil some of the principles of formative assessment into our Language for Learning. In simple terms, students’ progress most when they are given regular formative feedback that responds to their personal position on a ‘learning journey’.

This feedback can be informal or formal, but must be regular and tailored to the students’ individual needs. Feedback can be given by teachers, peers or as part of self-assessment procedures, but it must contain signposts that indicate strengths and areas for development.

Assessment for Learning strategies enable students to become more independent as learners and make faster progress.

At Kingsmead School we have agreed on eight key principles that will support our drive towards outstanding responsive teaching and independent learning:

Reporting

Reporting & Assessment Cycle 2016-2017 

    11 10 9 8 7
15/9/16 Thursday Supporting your child Colleges Evening      
10/10/16 Monday Data Trawl Completed Interim Report Completed      
13/10/16 Thursday   Tutor evening
20/10/16 Thursday Intervention Letters Report issued      
Half Term
31/10/16 Monday       Data Trawl Completed  
3/11/16 Thursday   Subject Evening      
7/11/16 Monday Mocks 2 weeks        
10/11/16 Thursday       Intervention Letters  
5/12/16 Monday Written Report Completed   Interim Report Completed   Data Trawl Completed
15/12/16 Thursday Report Issued   Report issued   Intervention Letters
Christmas
12/1/17 Thursday Subject Evening        
16/1/17 Monday       Assessment 2 weeks  
30/1/17 Monday Data Trawl Completed Data Trawl Completed Data Trawl Completed Written Report Completed Interim Report Completed
9/2/17 Thursday Intervention Letters Report Issued Report issued
Half Term
23/2/17 Thursday       Subject Evening  
9/3/17 Thursday       Options Evening  
13/3/17 Monday     Assessment 2 weeks    
Easter
18/4/17 Tuesday Interim Report Completed   Written Report Completed    
27/4/17 Thursday Report issued   Report issued    
11/5/17 Thursday     Subject Evening    
15/5/17 Monday GCSE starts       Assessment 2 weeks
Half Term
5/6/17 Monday   Assessment 2 weeks   Interim Report Completed Written Report Completed
15/6/17 Thursday       Report issued Report Issued
19/6/17 Monday   Written Report Completed      
29/6/17 Thursday   Report Issued     Subject Evening

 

Kingsmead School Firefly Parent Portal Year 7 - Click here for more information

Kingsmead School Firefly Parent Portal Year 8 to Year 11 - Click here for more information